top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRoss Moughtin

When the Gospel seed is planted


Sometimes good news catches you off balance. That certainly was our experience earlier this week when we turned up at an unfamiliar railway station.


To my total astonishment I heard a friendly voice: “Hello, Ross!” Who on earth, I thought, knows me here? However, I immediately recognised the face but I had to search for his name. It was Graham, who did our Alpha course way back in 2010.


I remember meeting Graham for the first time at the Alpha launch that September. As far as I was aware no one had invited him; he just turned up out of the blue.


I found Graham, not his real name, chatting vigorously with our visiting speaker. Wearing a smart suit and polished black shoes, he appeared relaxed and purposeful. He was eager to sign up.


Over the following weeks I got to know Graham fairly well, visiting him in his posh house in a posh part of Aughton. Clearly an expensive lifestyle, in as much as you can judge these things.


However, Graham’s breath invariably smelt of alcohol even though masked by a heady aftershave. Moreover there was often a sheen of perspiration on his face.

I don’t think he was finding life easy.


I can’t remember what happened to Graham. Maybe he signed up for our Beta course but if he did, he didn’t stay the course. I don’t think he ever turned up for a church service. He just slipped away.


Sometime later I noticed his house was up for sale, and that was that. Sadly I assumed that, more likely than not, his life was in a downward spiral. Occasionally driving past the house I would wonder what happened to Graham, maybe even prayed for him.


“So hello, Graham, what on earth are you doing here?”


Graham was en route to several meetings at head office: he now worked for a healthcare agency in a responsible position. Good to know.


However, what really bowled us over was when Graham told us that he was an assistant church warden at the town’s parish church, a well-known evangelical outfit. I was totally shocked. Who would have thought?


But that’s the Gospel for you. When the seed is planted, remarkable things may happen (but not necesssarily right away!).


Like most retired vicars I do some gardening. Most days, but not for long. And at this time of year I go around with my treasured swoe hoe stopping growth taking place.


Such is the virulence of seeds, some more than others, given half-a-chance and they start to grow. In a matter of days they can take over an entire section of garden. Even in a tiny crack in our drive, it doesn’t take long before some weed appears.


Jesus was fascinated by seeds, all that potential in such a tiny speck. And here we see the potential of the Kingdom of God. When planted, given half-a-chance, it will grow, even to fill the entire world.


At this point in my blog, to use an expression, I can kill two birds with one stone. For this Sunday I have been asked to preach, last minute, at Christ Church, Newburgh. Their original minister is unwell.


And here is the entire Bible reading, all of it..


Then Jesus said, “God’s kingdom is like seed thrown on a field by a man who then goes to bed and forgets about it. The seed sprouts and grows—he has no idea how it happens. The earth does it all without his help: first a green stem of grass, then a bud, then the ripened grain. When the grain is fully formed, he reaps—harvest time!” (Mark 4:26f the Message translation).


We cannot make spiritual growth happen any more than a farmer can make a seed grow. It just grows; it’s what seeds do. To quote the apostle Paul, reflecting on his ministry in Corinth: “I planted the seed. Apollos put water on the seed. But God made the seed grow.” (1 Corinthians 3:6)


The point is that we think that any planting of the Gospel message, particularly in this day and age, is often futile. The ground is too hard, the climate inhospitable, the pesticides too powerful. But that is simply to listen to the spirit of our age.


In complete contrast the Holy Spirit gives growth to every Gospel seed planted, as we are seeing around the world in our own day, often in surprising environments. Iran or China or Graham.


For a farmer to sow seeds is an act of faith. No big deal because he or she knows from experience that seeds – despite every appearance to the contrary – grow. Of course there’s much to do to safeguard and nourish the growth, but it’s worth it.


Meeting up with Graham shows what happens when we plant the Gospel. It may take time but prepare to be surprised. God is at work.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page